Beauty

I’m sure plenty of my posts will be about my late night experiences and funny stories simply because they stand out, but I can already tell that my experience in Barcelona is defined by beauty.

I’ve always been appreciative of beauty. I love nature. I’m fascinated by art. Whenever I travel, even just to a lake, I make a conscience effort to take in the beauty of the world. This habit is definitely learned. When my sisters and I were younger, Mom always made us stand silently and look at the beauty of the world whenever we traveled. Thank you Mama!

My concept of beauty is very much connected to nature. I never realized I could experience that same feeling of overwhelming awe, humility, and appreciation towards something built by man. That was until I arrived in Barcelona.

I know my explanation will not do Barca justice, but I will do my best to explain. The most obvious form of beauty here is the architecture, the art. Each building is unique. They are designed to be admired. Just your average apartment or market is art. The colors, the architectural style, the intricacy of design. There are busy main streets, but tiny alleys twist and turn off of them. They’re about 10 feet wide and the buildings on either side are 6-7 stories. They are begging for someone to come wander within them. Instead of feeling lost or claustrophobic, I feel like I know exactly where I am. Not geographically, but…Hmm, I don’t think words exist for that feeling, but it is incredible.

The people in Barcelona are equally as beautiful. I can’t quite figure out what it is that makes them so beautiful, but they have some intangible characteristic that is unique to “Barcelonans.” Their beauty is beyond physicality. The women are confident. They stand tall. Their walk is powerful, but it’s relaxed at the same time. They know who they are. The men similarly know who they are. Barcelona is part of Catalan. They love their Catalan culture and heritage and that love illuminates from within them.

People here are incredibly calm. It’s like nothing I’ve ever experienced. I haven’t seen anyone in a rush. No one appears stressed. Lunches take an hour. Dinner takes at least two. People sit, they talk, they drink. There is never a rush to leave. If anything, it’s hard to flag down a waiter to get a check. It’s beautiful.

I already feel the beauty of Barcelona affecting me. I feel alive. I guess that’s an odd thing to say. Of course I know I am alive, but now I feel it. It’s an active recognition and appreciation of life. I feel recharged. I feel light. Barca is where I am supposed to be.

xx

I realized I posted twice in a day, but I couldn’t help it! There’s so much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beauty

  1. Margie Buffington says:

    Just fabulous. You make me feel like I’m already there.

  2. Angie says:

    Cannot wait to see everything! Start making a list so you don’t forget to show us!!! What time (my time) can you skype??

    • LeAnnBuff says:

      Well I’m 9 hrs ahead, so by the time you’re home from work I’m sleeping. Let’s skype this weekend!! It’s 6:00 here now, and I think between 5-9 is probably the best time. So that’s 9am – 12 noon for you…no sleeping in for you!

  3. Erin says:

    hahah all i think when i read this is that i am not patient enough to sit through a two hour dinner. i love you!

Leave a Reply

